Northwest Territories.—The Government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, assisted by a Council composed of eight members one of whom is Deputy Commissioner. Five of the members are appointed by the Governor in Council and three are elected to represent electoral districts in the Mackenzie District. The administration of the various Acts, Ordinances and Regulations pertaining to the Northwest Territories is supervised by the Director of the Northern Administration and Lands Branch of the Department of Resources and Development. The seat of government is at Ottawa. The Council meets once a year at Ottawa and once a year at a point within the Territories. The First Session of this partially elected eight-member Council of the Northwest Territories was held at Yellowknife on Dec. 10, 1951.

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL (as at Mar. 31, 1952)	
Commissioner	Major-General Hugh A. Young
Members of the Council— Appointed	FRANE J. G. CUNNINGHAM (Deputy Commissioner) LOUIS C. AUDETTE, WILLIAM I. CLEMENTS, DONALD M. MACKAY, and LEONARD H. NICHOLSON
Elected	JAMES BRODIE, FRANK CARMICHAEL, and MERVIN HARDIE
Officers of the Council— Secretary	Robert Bouchard
Legal Adviser	Wm. Nason

Section 3.—Municipal Government*

The earliest local government in Canada was carried out by the seigneurs of New France who bore, along with military command and the administration of justice, the responsibilities of appointing justices of the peace and clerks of roads. Some of these officers were soon replaced by a 'syndic' elected by the people, the first in 1644, though a mayor and two aldermen had held office briefly in the City of Quebec in 1643. However, the syndics fell into disuse, and such powers were delegated by the Governor to officials. The City of Quebec was incorporated in 1832, and a system of local government for the Province, decreed in 1840, was remodelled by Acts of 1845, 1847, 1850 and 1860.

In the Atlantic Provinces, Saint John, N.B., had attained the distinction of becoming Canada's first incorporated city in 1785. Incorporation of Halifax, N.S., came in 1841 and Charlottetown, P.E.I., in 1855. In Newfoundland, St. John's was created a town in 1888.

The Ontario Parish and Town Officers Act of 1793 provided for an annual meeting in a parish or township to appoint local officers responsible to Parliament and the courts and the meetings had no law-making powers. Brockville, in 1832, gained some local powers from the Governor in Council which had previously been exercised through the courts. In 1834, York was incorporated as the self-governing City of Toronto. The Municipal Act of 1849 became the foundation of the local government in Ontario and later provided a model for the western provinces. Subsequently, Acts have been passed in all provinces governing aspects of municipal incorporation, powers and duties. Constitutional provision that jurisdiction over municipal affairs would rest with the provinces has resulted, quite naturally, in

^{*} Prepared in the Public Finance and Transportation Division, Dominion Bureau of Statistics.